The Adelaide Critics Circle has announced the shortlist for its 22nd Annual Awards in 2018. The award ceremony, which is a free event, open to the public, will be held at Holden Street Theatres (34 Holden Street, Hindmarsh) on Monday the 10th of December at 6.00pm.
Shortlisted for awards in the performing and visual arts are:

Individual Award
Chris Drummond – director, Memorial (Brink Productions)
Douglas McNicol – singer, Hamlet (Adelaide Festival)
David Mealor – director, Creditors (State Theatre Company of SA) and Solo: Bitch Boxer & Sea Wall (Flying Penguin Productions)
Renato Musolino actor, Solo: Sea Wall (Flying Penguin Productions)

Group Award
Brink Productions – Memorial
House of Sand Welome the Bright World
Theatre Republic Lines

Emerging Artist of the Year Award
Nicole Endacott actor, Proof (Adapt Productions)
Lily van Rhoda singer/actor, Wicked (Zest Theatre Group, Victor Harbor)
Stefanie Rossi actor, Mengele (Guy Masterson/CIT) and Reasonable Doubt (STARC)
Max Grynchuk musician, (MG Big Band)

Independent Arts Foundation Award for Innovation
UKARIA 24 – (C)age of Enlightenment
House of Sand Welcome the Bright World
Oz Asia Festival Patina

Individual Award – Amateur or Community Theatre
Robert Bell actor, Caligula (Red Phoenix)
Michael Eustice director, Red Phoenix and a body of work 2018
Gary George actor, The Goat or Who is Sylvia? (University of Adelaide Theatre Guild)
Mark Sandon  musical director, Old Wicked Songs (Independent Theatre)

Group Award – Amateur or Community Theatre
Gilbert and Sullivan Society of SA A Little Night Music
Independent Theatre Born Yesterday
Red Phoenix Caligula

Visual Arts Award
The Visual Arts award, conferred by the Visual Arts critics, will be announced on the night.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Finally, the ceremony will also see the announcement of the coveted Lifetime Achievement Award. The identity of the recipient is a closely guarded secret - revealed only on the night.

Go to top