The Adelaide Critics Circle has announced the shortlist for its 2010 annual awards. The finalists for awards in the performing arts are:

Individual Award
Nicholas Garsden - actor, for True West (Flying Penguin Productions)
Corey McMahon - director, The Share (
Hannah Norris - actor, My Name is Rachel Corrie (Daniel Clarke)
Nathan O’Keefe - actor, for his body of work throughout the year

Group Award
Brink Productions - Harbinger
Leigh Warren & Dancers/State Opera of South Australia - Maria de Buenos Aires
Slingsby Theatre Company - Man Covets Bird

Emerging Artist of the Year
Ian Andrew - performer, Pirates of Penzance (Gilbert & Sullivan Society of SA)
Matthew Crook - actor, The Share (
Aleksandr Tsiboulski - guitarist, for his body of work throughout the year

Independent Arts Foundation Award for Innovation
Steve Sheehan - Stevl Shefn and His Translator Fatima
The Border Project/Sydney Theatre Company - vs Macbeth
Brink Productions - Harbinger

Amateur Theatre - Individual Award
Megan Humphries - performer, Monty Python’s Spamalot (Northern Light Theatre Company)
Myfanwy May - performer, Haywire (Therry Dramatic Society)
Guy O’Grady - actor, An Enemy of the People (ActNow Theatre for Social Change)
Sue Wylie - performer, Curtains (Therry Dramatic Society), The Vagina Monologues (Acorn)

Amateur Theatre - Group Award
Northern Light Theatre Company - Monty Python’s Spamalot
Therry Dramatic Society - Curtains
Southern Youth Theatre Ensemble - Retaliation

Awards for Visual Arts
The Award for Visual Arts will also be announced. There are no finalists, with a single winner, decided by the visual arts critics.

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Finally, the ceremony will also see the announcement of the coveted Lifetime Achievement Award. The identity of the recipient is a closely guarded secret - revealed only on the night.

Go to top