The Adelaide Critics Circle has announced the shortlist for its 2011 annual awards. The finalists for awards in the performing arts are:

Individual Award
Guy Barrett - RBS Morgans International Piano Series
Tamara Lee - actor, That Face (
David Mealor - director, Buried Child (State Theatre Company of SA)

Group Award - The Eisteddfod
Soundstream Collective
State Opera of South Australia - Moby Dick
State Theatre Company of SA - Holding the Man

Emerging Artist of the Year
Robert Bell - actor, The Pillowman (University of Adelaide Theatre Guild)
Charles Sanders - artistic director, Early Worx
Nigel Tripodi - actor, A View from the Bridge (University of Adelaide Theatre Guild)
Alex Vickery-Howe - playwright, Molly’s Shoes (Accidental Productions)

Independent Arts Foundation Award for Innovation
Chris More - video and set designer, The Girl Who Cried Wolf (Windmill Theatre Co.)
Jason Sweeney - sound designer, Three Sisters, The Eisteddfod
Adam Synnott - animation and sound, Side To One (Craig Bary and Lisa Griffiths)

Amateur Theatre - Individual Award
Megan Dansie - director, The Pillowman (University of Adelaide Theatre Guild)
David Roach - actor, Red (Independent Theatre)
Russell Starke OAM - actor, Breaker Morant (Therry Dramatic Society)

Amateur Theatre - Group Award
Therry Dramatic Society - Breaker Morant
University of Adelaide Theatre Guild - A View from the Bridge
University of Adelaide Theatre Guild - The Pillowman

Awards for Visual Arts
The Award for Visual Arts will also be announced. There are no finalists, with a single winner, decided by the visual arts critics.

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Finally, the ceremony will also see the announcement of the coveted Lifetime Achievement Award. The identity of the recipient is a closely guarded secret - revealed only on the night.

Go to top