The Adelaide Critics Circle has announced the shortlist for its 2013 annual awards. The finalists for awards in the performing arts are:

Individual Award
Paul Blackwell - actor, Vere (State Theatre Company of SA)
Douglas McNicol - singer, Salome (State Opera of SA)
David Mealor - director, The Dark Room (Flying Penguin/State Theatre Company of SA)
Rosemary Myers - director, Windmill Theatre (Big Bad Wolf; School Dance)

Group Award
Adelaide Symphony Orchestra - cond. Arvo Volmer, Salome
Flamenco Areti - AFCT Summer Sessions
ONFG - One for the Ugly Girls
Soundstream Collective - Crowd Theory Adelaide

Emerging Artist of the Year
Miranda Pike - actor, Girl in the Goldfish Bowl (Bakehouse Theatre)
Annie Siegmann - singer/songwriter, Girl on the Drink (Cabaret Fringe Festival)
Jordan Cowan - actor, The Dark Room (Flying Penguin/State Theatre Company of SA)

Independent Arts Foundation Award for Innovation
Cindi Drennan - projection design, Ode to Nonsense (Slingsby/State Opera of SA)
Emma Beech - actor/writer, Homage To Uncertainty (Adelaide Fringe)
Jason Sweeney - Stereopublic (Adelaide Festival)

Amateur Theatre - Individual Award
Bronwyn Ruciak - actor, The Magnificent Ambersons, Independent Theatre
Megan Dansie - director, Richard III, University of Adelaide Theatre Guild

Amateur Theatre - Group Award
AJZ Productions - The Migration Project (Come Out Festival)
Hills Musical Society - The Producers
University of Adelaide Theatre Guild - Richard III

Award for Visual Arts

The Award for Visual Arts will also be announced. There are no finalists, with a single winner, decided by the Visual Arts critics.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Finally, the ceremony will also see the announcement of the coveted Lifetime Achievement Award. The identity of the recipient is a closely guarded secret - revealed only on the night.

Go to top