The Adelaide Critics Circle has announced the shortlist for its 2012 annual awards. The finalists for awards in the performing arts are:

Individual Award
Robert Macfarlane - singer, St John Passion (Adelaide Chamber Singers)
Amber McMahon - actor, School Dance (Windmill Theatre Co.)
Alirio Zavarce - writer, director, and actor, Sons and Mothers (No Strings Attached)

Group Award
No Strings Attached Theatre of Disability - Sons and Mothers
Restless Dance Theatre - Howling Like A Wolf
Windmill Theatre Co. - School Dance

Emerging Artist of the Year
Kate Cheel - actor, The Glass Menagerie (State Theatre Company of SA)
Guy O’Grady - actor, The Call (Junglebean)
Tim Overton - actor, The Call (Junglebean)

Independent Arts Foundation Award for Innovation
Adam Synnott - composer and media artist, Pari passu (Leigh Warren & Dancers)
The Border Project - I Am Not An Animal

Amateur Theatre - Individual Award

Michael Baldwin - actor, Antigone (University of Adelaide Theatre Guild)
David Gauci - actor, Hairspray (Matt Byrne Media)
Ben Saunders - director/musical director, Forbidden Broadway (Marie Clark Musical Theatre)

Amateur Theatre - Group Award
Hills Musical Company - Kiss of the Spider Woman
Marie Clark Musical Theatre - Forbidden Broadway
Matt Byrne Media - Hairspray

Awards for Visual Arts
The Award for Visual Arts will also be announced. There are no finalists, with a single winner, decided by the visual arts critics.

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Finally, the ceremony will also see the announcement of the coveted Lifetime Achievement Award. The identity of the recipient is a closely guarded secret - revealed only on the night.

Go to top