The 24th Annual Adelaide Critics Circle Awards were presented at a ceremony at Holden Street Theatres on Monday the 13th of December 2021. The awards this year encompassed productions from both 2020 and 2021, as the event was postponed last year due to the impact of the Coronavirus pandemic. Winners received a framed certificate of achievement. The Awards were made possible by the support of the Independent Arts Foundation and the members of the Adelaide Critics Circle.


Individual Award – Amateur or Community Theatre

Martha Lott, actor - Grounded (Holden Street Theatres)


Group Award – Amateur or Community Theatre

Red Phoenix Theatre - The Laramie Project


Individual Award – Professional Theatre

Konstantin Shamray, pianist – Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 3 with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra


Group Award – Professional Theatre

Gravity and Other Myths – body of work and especially The Pulse.


Emerging Artist of the Year Award

South Australian Playwrights Theatre – body of work


Independent Arts Foundation Award for Innovation

Hartstone-Kitney Productions - Black Box Live From Australia


Visual Arts Award

 Ida Sophia


Lifetime Achievement Award

Matthew Byrne

Go to top